When opposites give up and settle for each other

 

Dear potentially non existent readers

Before diving into the comprehensive version of my partner and I’s conception history let me give you a very short history of myself and our relationship. Hopefully a better idea of who we are will shed better light on our worries and concerns and why we make certain decisions along the way.

3f121d6359d83f18da981d2ba83a5332Bought up by my Dad with my older brother on a northern council estate we were certainly one of the more privileged families on the estate. My Dad worked his arse off to provide for us and led by immaculate example. Our Mum had left home when I was 3 and lived in a rough estate of high rise flats. She had 3 other children (my little brother and sisters) but due to alcohol abuse they were taken into social care and fostered. The eldest of my two sisters suffers with a range of learning disabilities and at 15 was allowed to live back with my Mum, primarily due to her challenging behaviour.

My missus, whom I shall refer to as Bam (B.A.M – Becoming a Mum), grew up living with her Mum, her Dad having left [for good] when she was very young. Bam’s mum had her own issues, and a bit of a party life, and Bam found herself helping to raise her younger brother from an early age. While Bam’s elder sister had children in her teens Bam was focused on getting a job, career and life of her own before settling down with the right person (which at the moment is apparently me).

I work in a special school currently spending half my week teaching and the other supporting autistic individuals on a one to one bases. Bam works as a healthcare assistant for a number of pupils in our school. I once gave a lesson in which Bam happened to be in supporting a client. The lesson saw me doing a bit of silly story rap which went over better with the kids than most the support staff. That said I got home that night to a Facebook message telling me how amazing my lesson was (I might of added the word ‘amazing’) and after a little chat Bam asked if i’d like to go out on a date.

In the 2 years we’ve been together we’ve certainly discovered how different we are. Bam I would describe as a pessimist (realist in her eyes) who is extremely caring, hard working and efficient in almost everything that she does. I would have to say I am certainly more optimistic than Bam and just as caring, although we sit at different points on the empathy spectrum. I find it hard to say I’m ‘hard working’ because I love my job so much its hardly work, that said I do strive to constantly improve myself for work. Our interests massively differ, Bams major interests appears to be finding the right man and starting a family while taking time to travel and visiting delightful places. I’m down with that (I’ve little choice now) although I do have a number of interests I invariably bore Bam with. These range from football, autism and hip hop to science, history, religion and plenty more.

So that’s us. Two average folk starting a family. What can go wrong?

No, honestly what can go wrong? I guess we’ll have to wait and see.

Best wishes.

The Bad Blogger

Author: The Bad Blogger

I'm an enthusiastic Dad-to-be attempting to document some of the coming events in hope of helping future parents..... and for a bit of a laugh.

Leave a Reply

